January 22, 2018

Guest Author

[This post was last updated on April 12th 2019]

In 2017 CompTIA announced that they would release a new intermediate-level credential for cyber security professionals. No one knew that within a year the CySA+ would be adopted to the DoD 8570.01M mandate or that it would go through an acronym change. So why did the acronym change from CSA+ to CySA+?

CSA+ to CySA+

The acronym for CompTIA’s Cybersecurity Analyst certification changed in January of 2018 froCSA+ to CySA+m CSA+ to CySA+ due to trademark infringement. When CompTIA first announced the new certification and acronym they were unaware that another organization was operating with and had trademarked the CSA acronym.

If you have previously earned your CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst certification you will be re-issued a new certificate to reflect the changes to the acronym.

So Has Anything Else Changed?

No, only the acronym for the certification has changed. CySA+ is still an intermediate-level cyber security certification offered by CompTIA. The CySA+ exam is 90 multiple-choice and performance-based questions covering the following areas:

  • Threat Management – 27%
  • Vulnerability Management – 26%
  • Security Architecture and Tool Sets – 24%
  • Cyber Incident Response – 23%

Reach out to our team if you want to learn more about CySA+, and how it would make sense for your career direction. You can also refer to the CompTIA roadmap here for guidance. 

subscribe by email

Stay Ahead

Phoenix TS needs the contact information you provide to us to contact you about our products and services. You may unsubscribe from these communications at anytime. For information on how to unsubscribe, as well as our privacy practices and commitment to protecting your privacy, check out our Privacy Policy.