September 24, 2017 | Category: Hardware & Software, Phoenix TS IT Security Blog, Training and Certification | Tags: , , , , , Views: 7879

RHCSA & RHCE: Certifications for Red Hat System Administrators

While Linux is an open source operating system, Red Hat has been able to secure a hold on the market with its vendor specific Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) system and various other technologies. Additionally, they have been able to develop highly regarded credentials to accredit one’s knowledge in their platforms and technologies.  Unlike many certifications that allow professionals experienced in the field to self-study and pass relatively easily, Red Hat’s certification exams are notorious for rattling even the most-skilled professionals.

For anyone interested in developing a platform-specific understanding of Linux or is already working around Red Hat products, the Red Hat System Administration certification path is an ideal choice.

RHCSA: Red Hat Certified Systems Administrator

Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA) is the entry-level certification related to the Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) system. This certification validates the skills needed to install, configure and administer RHEL. There are no prerequisites for this course and training is not required, however, the exam is a strenuous performance-based test with a high failure rate on the first attempt – so training is highly recommended.

The RHCSA exam code is EX200 and the format is a 2.5-hour hands-on lab.

If you are attempting the RHCSA exam with a background in Windows system administration, it is suggested to take the following courses:

If you are attempting the exam with a Linux or Unix administration background, then the following course is recommended:

Register for RH 124, 134 or 199

RHCE: Red Hat Certified Engineer

Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) is RHEL’s mid to advanced level certification. This credential builds on the knowledge accredited through RHCSA and focuses on advanced RHEL topics such as security. RHCSA is a prerequisite for the certification but training is not required. Just like RHCSA, the exam is extremely difficult so training is highly recommended, in addition to, relevant real-word experience with Linux essentials, administration, networking and security.

The RHCE exam code is EX300 and the format is a 3.5-hour hands-on lab.

Before attempting the RHCE exam, it is recommended to take the following courses:

Register for RH 124, 134 or 254

After RHCE

After receiving the RHCE certification, professionals wanting to grow to the next level should consider the Red Hat Certified Architect (RHCA). This is the most well-rounded certification in the Red Hat offering as it requires Red Hat professionals to earn 5 certifications from either one or a variety of Red Hat concentrations. Concentrations include:

  • Application Development
  • Application Platform
  • Cloud
  • Datacenter
  • DevOps

For more information regarding RHCA training and certification, contact our team at 240-667-7757.

Sign Up Now For Red Hat Learning Subscription

Related Post

How to Become a CISSP

CISSP Exam Cost & Testing Centers in 2017