ITIL® Lifecycle – Continual Service Improvement (CSI) Certification Training

This three-day instructor-led training is an intermediate Service Lifecycle module that focuses on service management practices.

Course Overview

Our 3-day, instructor-led ITIL® Lifecycle – Continual Service Improvement (CSI) Certification Training course is intended for IT professionals in the IT Service Management field. It covers:

  • Continual Service Improvement principles, processes, methods & techniques
  • Technology for Continual Service Improvement
  • Organization for Continual Service Improvement
  • Implementation considerations
  • Critical success factors & risks

This course will prepare you for the ITIL® CSI Qualification exam.

Before taking this course, you should have the ITIL® Foundation Certification and at least two years of work experience in the IT Service Management field.


Currently, there are no public classes scheduled. Please contact a Phoenix TS Training Consultant to discuss hosting a private class at 240-667-7757.


Not seeing a good fit?

Let us know. Our team of instructional designers, curriculum developers, and subject matter experts can create a custom course for you.

Contact Us

Learn more about custom training

Course Outline

Introduction to Continual Service Improvement

  • The purpose, objectives and scope of CSI
  • The value to the business of adopting and implementing CSI
  • The context of CSI in the ITIL service lifecycle
  • The approach to CSI, including key interfaces and inputs and outputs

Continual Service Improvement Principles

  • How the success of CSI depends on understanding change in the organization and having clear accountability
  • How service level management and knowledge management influence and support CSI
  • How the complete Deming Cycle works, and how it can be applied to a real world example
  • How CSI can make effective use of the various aspects of service measurement
  • What situations require the use of frameworks and models, and examples of how each type can be used to achieve improvement

Continual Service Improvement Processes

  • What the seven-step improvement process is, how each step can be applied and the benefits produced
  • How CSI integrates with the other stages in the ITIL service lifecycle
  • How other processes play key roles in the seven-step improvement process

Continual Service Improvement Methods and Techniques

  • When to use assessments, what to assess & how a gap analysis can provide insight into the areas that have room for improvement
  • How to use benchmarking, service measurement, metrics, service reporting, including balanced scorecard and SWOT, to support CSI
  • How to create a return on investment, establish a business case and measure the benefits achieved
  • How techniques within availability management, capacity management, IT service continuity management and problem management can be used by CSI

Organizing for Continual Service Improvement

  • The role of the CSI manager, and the roles of service owner, process owner, process manager and process practitioner in the context of CSI
  • How these roles can be positioned within an organization
  • How to design, implement and populate a RACI (responsible, accountable, consulted, informed) diagram as well as how to use it to support CSI

Technology Considerations

  • The technology and tools required
  • How these tools would be implemented & managed to support CSI activities such as: Performance, Project & portfolio management, Service measurement & Business intelligence reporting

Implementing Continual Service Improvement

  • CSI implementation: strategy, planning, governance, communication, project management, operation, and how to deal with cultural and organizational change

Challenges, Critical Success Factors and Risks

  • The challenges and risks related to CSI and how these challenges can be addressed
  • The critical success factors related to CSI as well as how to measure and monitor them

Exam Information

ITIL Lifecycle CSI Certification Exam Details:

You can use the ITIL Intermediate voucher for any ITIL Lifecycle or Capability exam.

  • Number of Questions: 8
  • Passing Score: 70%
  • Duration: 90 minutes
  • Format: multiple choice, scenario-based and gradient scored
  • Students must present an ITIL 2011 or V2 Foundation certificate plus a Bridge certificate before taking this exam

ITIL® Lifecycle – Continual Service Improvement (CSI) Certification Training Resources

Register Contact Us

$1,813 – $2,150

  • Price Match Guarantee

    We’ll match any competitor’s price quote. Call us at 240-667-7757.

  • Included in this ITIL Lifecycle CSI Certification Training course:

    • 3 days instructor-led training
    • ITIL Lifecycle CSI Certification Training book
    • Notepad, pen and highlighter
    • Variety of bagels, fruits, doughnuts and cereal available at the start of class*
    • Tea, coffee and soda available throughout the day*
    • Freshly baked cookies every afternoon*


    *denotes this benefit is only available at participating locations. 

Subscribe now

Get new class alerts, promotions, and blog posts