ITIL® Lifecycle – Continual Service Improvement (CSI) Certification Training

This three-day instructor-led training is an intermediate Service Lifecycle module that focuses on service management practices.

Course Overview

Our 3-day, instructor-led ITIL® Lifecycle – Continual Service Improvement (CSI) training and certification boot camp in Washington, DC Metro, Tysons Corner, VA, Columbia, MD or Live Online is intended for IT professionals in the IT Service Management field. It covers:

  • Continual Service Improvement principles, processes, methods & techniques
  • Technology for Continual Service Improvement
  • Organization for Continual Service Improvement
  • Implementation considerations
  • Critical success factors & risks

This course will prepare you for the ITIL® CSI Qualification exam.

Before taking this course, you should have the ITIL® Foundation Certification and at least two years of work experience in the IT Service Management field.

ITIL® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.


Currently, there are no public classes scheduled. Please contact a Phoenix TS Training Consultant to discuss hosting a private class at 240-667-7757.


Not seeing a good fit?

Let us know. Our team of instructional designers, curriculum developers, and subject matter experts can create a custom course for you.

Contact Us

Learn more about custom training

Course Outline

Introduction to Continual Service Improvement

  • The purpose, objectives and scope of CSI
  • The value to the business of adopting and implementing CSI
  • The context of CSI in the ITIL service lifecycle
  • The approach to CSI, including key interfaces and inputs and outputs

Continual Service Improvement Principles

  • How the success of CSI depends on understanding change in the organization and having clear accountability
  • How service level management and knowledge management influence and support CSI
  • How the complete Deming Cycle works, and how it can be applied to a real world example
  • How CSI can make effective use of the various aspects of service measurement
  • What situations require the use of frameworks and models, and examples of how each type can be used to achieve improvement

Continual Service Improvement Processes

  • What the seven-step improvement process is, how each step can be applied and the benefits produced
  • How CSI integrates with the other stages in the ITIL service lifecycle
  • How other processes play key roles in the seven-step improvement process

Continual Service Improvement Methods and Techniques

  • When to use assessments, what to assess & how a gap analysis can provide insight into the areas that have room for improvement
  • How to use benchmarking, service measurement, metrics, service reporting, including balanced scorecard and SWOT, to support CSI
  • How to create a return on investment, establish a business case and measure the benefits achieved
  • How techniques within availability management, capacity management, IT service continuity management and problem management can be used by CSI

Organizing for Continual Service Improvement

  • The role of the CSI manager, and the roles of service owner, process owner, process manager and process practitioner in the context of CSI
  • How these roles can be positioned within an organization
  • How to design, implement and populate a RACI (responsible, accountable, consulted, informed) diagram as well as how to use it to support CSI

Technology Considerations

  • The technology and tools required
  • How these tools would be implemented & managed to support CSI activities such as: Performance, Project & portfolio management, Service measurement & Business intelligence reporting

Implementing Continual Service Improvement

  • CSI implementation: strategy, planning, governance, communication, project management, operation, and how to deal with cultural and organizational change

Challenges, Critical Success Factors and Risks

  • The challenges and risks related to CSI and how these challenges can be addressed
  • The critical success factors related to CSI as well as how to measure and monitor them

Exam Information

ITIL Lifecycle CSI Certification Exam Details:

You can use the ITIL Intermediate voucher for any ITIL Lifecycle or Capability exam.

  • Number of Questions: 8
  • Passing Score: 70%
  • Duration: 90 minutes
  • Format: multiple choice, scenario-based and gradient scored
  • Students must present an ITIL 2011 or V2 Foundation certificate plus a Bridge certificate before taking this exam

ITIL® Lifecycle – Continual Service Improvement (CSI) Certification Training Resources

Subscribe now

Get new class alerts, promotions, and blog posts

Phoenix TS needs the contact information you provide to us to contact you about our products and services. You may unsubscribe from these communications at anytime. For information on how to unsubscribe, as well as our privacy practices and commitment to protecting your privacy, check out our Privacy Policy.

Download Course Brochure

Enter your information below to download this brochure!